Reset your step count and other metrics or data in the Fitbit app to zero

distance missing or showing zero on Fitbit clock face

There are times when you want to reset your Fitbit’s metrics to zero. If you no longer want some or all of your Fitbit account’s data history, you can delete it from the Fitbit app or through Fitbit’s online account dashboard. 

For example, if you travel to a new timezone, your Fitbit might not immediately update your information, and your daily metrics may be incorrect.

You might want to start back at zero for one or all your metrics, delete all of that old data, and start fresh for a clean slate! Or you may want to start over with a new Fitbit or Google Pixel Watch and get rid of all that old data from your previous Fitbits or Pixel watches.

Whatever your reason is, you can reset some or all of your steps and other metrics in the Fitbit app without deleting your Fitbit account! Learn how in this article.

So let’s get started.

Reset your Fitbit app and account data for steps, distance, calories, and more! Step count shows as zero or is missing on Fitbit clock face

You don’t need to delete your Fitbit account to delete data from it. The Fitbit app and the Fitbit online account dashboard allow you to remove specific data from today, last week, last month, last year, and even from all time.

Remember that your Fitbit account stores your data history, not your Fitbit device. So when you delete data from your account, you usually aren’t deleting the current data from your device unless you choose to delete data that includes today.

If you only want to reset your Fitbit device to zero for the day, perform a factory reset to erase and clear its user data. Fitbit Sense or Versa 3 factory reset

A factory reset removes apps, stored data, personal information, credit and debit cards, and any saved settings from the Fitbit device, not your Fitbit account.

Also, be sure you want to delete your Fitbit data. After you delete your Fitbit app and account data, you cannot recover it.

How to delete data in the Fitbit app

  1. Open the Fitbit app and tap your profile picture or icon at the top.
  2. Scroll down to Settings and choose Account Settings. Fitbit app Account Settings
  3. Tap Delete Data. Fitbit app Delete data from Fitbit account
  4. Under Data Deletion, scroll down and select what category and type of data you want to delete. Data deletion fitbit app
  5. Choose the date range of the data you want to remove.
    1. Select from Today, Last week, Last month, Last year, or All time. Fitbit app delete a day of step data from Fitbit account and app
  6. Tap Delete
  7. Press Delete again to confirm. Fitbit app confirm you wish to delete data from app and account
  8. Repeat these steps for any additional data category and type you want to remove.

How to delete data in your Fitbit online account

  1. Go to the Fitbit website and sign in with your Fitbit account credentials.
  2. Under the account icon, select your Dashboard
  3. Tap the gear icon at th top and choose Settings. Fitbit account dashboard Settings
  4. Select Manage Data from the left side panel. Fitbit account dashboard manage data
  5. Under Manage Your Fitbit Data, select what category and type of data you want to delete. Manage Fitbit account data online including deleting data
  6. Choose the date range of the data you want to remove.
    1. Select from Today, Last week, Last month, Last year, or All time. Choose a data range for Fitbit account data deletion online
  7. Tap Delete
  8. Confirm you wish to delete the data by tapping Delete again. Fitbit online account confirm data deletion from account
  9. Repeat these steps for any additional category and data type you want to remove.

Don’t want Fitbit to store ANY of your personal data? Delete your Fitbit account Delete your Fitbit account using the fitbit app

If you want to start from scratch and delete all your Fitbit account’s data and don’t mind waiting three months (90 days) to restart your account (using the same email address,) you have the option to delete your account.

You can delete your Fitbit account in the Fitbit app or via your online account dashboard and delete all the data associated with your Fitbit account.

When you delete your Fitbit account, it also removes any subscriptions associated with that Fitbit ID, such as Fitbit Premium.

How to delete your Fitbit account

  • In the Fitbit app, tap your account icon at the top, scroll down, and choose Account Settings. Then, select Delete Account. Follow the steps to confirm.Fitbit app Delete Fitbit account
  • On the Fitbit account online Dashboard, log in and choose the gear icon at the top. Select Settings. In your Personal Info profile section, scroll all the way down and select Delete Account. Follow the steps to confirm. Fitbit account delete in Fitbit account online dashboard

Once you confirm you wish to delete the Fitbit account associated with your email address, you must wait for the following milestones before your account is completely removed from Fitbit’s servers.

  1. First 7 days: You can change your mind and restore your account. Fitbit gives you seven days to recover it. To do so, log in to your account using the same account credentials to regain access to your Fitbit data.
  2. After seven days: Google freezes your Fitbit account, and you can no longer recover your Fitbit data.
  3. During the first 90 days: Google (Fitbit) deletes most of your personal account info within the first 30 days from when you confirmed you wanted to remove your Fitbit account. However, it can take up to 90 days to delete all of your personal info, like the data recorded by your Fitbit device and other data stored in their backup systems.
  4. After 90 days: Once that three months (90 days) pass, you can sign up for a Fitbit account using the same email address, and your past data won’t show up or associate with your new account.

Final thoughts

While it’s not often necessary to delete data from your Fitbit account, it’s good to know you can when you need or want to.

Remember that deleting data is not the same as deleting your account. When you delete data, it removes specific data but keeps your Fitbit account active. When you delete your account, Fitbit places your account on a temporary 7-day hold and then freezes it and completely removes it in 30-90 days. 

Previous articleHow to track your steps without wearing your Fitbit watch or even owning a Fitbit
Next articleOura ring not connecting and syncing to the Oura app on your phone? Steps to fix it
I started my love affair with computers way back in elementary school with the Apple II. Since then, I've worked with technology in my career as a media educator and videomaker. I have an MFA in media making from Temple University, where I also taught undergrads as an adjunct faculty member. Additionally, I was a writer, content producer, and editor on the popular tech blog AppleToolBox. So I know a thing or two about teaching others and creating how-to guides! After a cancer diagnosis, I turned to mobile technology like my Apple Watch to help me monitor my health throughout my chemotherapy treatment and later, to regain my wellness once in remission. I love sharing how to understand and use mobile tech, like smartwatches and phones, as a tool for empowerment to live our best and healthiest lives! Connect with me on LinkedIn!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.